North Central Province, Sri Lanka: Travel/Tourist Information Guide

Anuradhapura Great StupaHabaranaLovamahapayaMihintale TemplePolonnaruwa Heritage Site

World Heritage Sites          Religious Places           Historical Sites          National Parks

The capital of North Central Province is Anuradhapura. It is the largest zone of Sri Lanka and it consists of two administrative districts which are Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa. North Central Province contains ancient Sinhalese kingdoms and places of Buddhist worship such as Sri Maha Bodhi, Ruwanwelisaya. Its capital, Anuradhapura, is one of the most sacred cities in Sri Lanka because many places of Buddhist worship are located in this ancient city. It also contains two of the eight World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka. The area is rich in historical manners and is known as the cultural triangle. The main cities of this region are Anuradhapura, Habarana and Polonnaruwa. Mihintale is also a small popular town. Both Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa are very historical cities which there are many sights waiting for travellers to visit.