Papua New Guinea (PNG): Travel/Tourist Information Guide

Papua New_GuineaPapua New_Guinea_Capital_City_Port_MoresbyPapua New_Guinea_Erupting_VolcanoPapua New_Guinea_Indigenous_FolkPapua New_Guinea_Tropical_Island_BeachPapua New_Guinea_Village

Papua New Guinea also known as (PNG) and officially the Independent State of New Guinea is an island nation in the Oceania. It encompasses the eastern part of the island of New Guinea as well as the offshore islands of Melanesia. It is divided into 9 regions or cities, the capital being Port Moresby. It covers a total of 287 595 square miles of land and sea and has an estimated population of 7 million people.

Papua New Guinea is one of the most heterogeneous nations in the world. There are 100s of indigenous ethnic groups scattered all over the various regions which are said to have inhabited the land around 45 000 BP. The main ethnic group is known as the Papuans. Apart from the indigenous groups there are also expatriates from all over the globe currently residing in Papua New Guinea. The official languages are Hiri Motu, Tok Pisin, sign language and English. The majority of the population practice Christianity (66%) while the later of (34%) practice various traditional beliefs.

In 1884 the island was divided between Germany and Great Britain and in 1901 it became an Australian colony. However, it was not until 1975 that it achieved its independence from Australia.

Due to its tropical climate and location it is sometimes subject to mild earth quakes, tsunamis and volcanic activity. PNG has dense rainforests, highlands, mountains and wetlands which are best trekked June through September. It is easily accessed by land, sea or plane and a visa is required to enter it. Finding a suitable place to stay is just as easy as 1, 2, 3 and there are plenty of activities to do and tours to take making it an extremely popular place to visit.