Cottonera, Malta: Travel/Tourist Information Guide

Top things to do        Nightlife, Bars & Clubs        Accommodation        Getting around / Transport

thumb malta-cottonera-fort-st-angelothumb malta-cottonera-nightimethumb malta-cottonera-nortre-dame-gatethumb malta-cottonera-sengleathumb malta-cottonera-vittoriosa-marinathumb malta cottonera steps

Cottonera is formed of the three neighboring, fortified cities of Vittoriosa (Birgu), Cospicua (Bormla) and Senglea (L’Isla). They are, also, collectively known as “The Three Cities”. They are on the opposite shore of Valleta and form a part of the Grand Harbor of Malta. Cottonera is left unvisited by most, but it offers an authentic experience of the island, due to its historical buildings, fortifications and celebrations.

Vittoriosa (Birgu)

It is the oldest of the “Three Cities” of Cottonera. Throughout history, Birgu / Vittoriosa, was used as a trade point by many nations, such as Phoenicians, Greeks and Arabs. In 1530, the Knights of St. John arrived in the island and made Birgu their capital city, for a short period. They built the fortifications and castles that shape the city today.

Cospicua (Bormla)

Cospicua is the largest of the cities of Cottonera. It is an important cultural and market center for the region. Cospicua is well known for the religious celebrations of the Feast of the Immaculate Conception which is held annually on the 8th of December and for the ceremonies that take place during the Good Friday.

Senglea (L'Isla)

It is Malta’s smallest and most densely populated locality. It has an important cultural and historical heritage as it is surrounded by numerous fortifications and impressive buildings. The city offers many activities throughout the year, such as the Regattas, the traditional boat races, that take place twice a year, the city’s celebrations, on the 8th of September or the Senglea Maritime Festival.