Colombia: Travel/Tourist Guide

Colombia is a South American country located in the northwest of the continent. It is surrounded by the countries of Panama, Venezuela, Brazil, Peru and Ecuador. Its capital city is Bogotá. The official language is Spanish and the currency is the peso (COP).

Colombia: Bogotá at nightColombia: Caño Cristales Rainbow RiverColombia: Church in CartagenaColombia: CoastlineColombia: Colorful streetColombia: Flag flying over city skylineColombia: Fruit vendorsColombia: Guatape Rock

Climate and Geography

It has a tropical climate due to being close to the equator, although its geography gives it five different climate regions depending on temperature, altitude and weather. In the west runs three mountain ranges while the east is covered  by low tropical jungles and  two major rivers. The population is mostly concentrated in the eastern valley locally called as the tierra templada. The country is within the area of the globe known as the Ring of Fire, which is prone to volcanic eruptions and earthquakes. 

Cultural Diversity

The country used to be inhabited by indigenous peoples until it was colonized by the Spanish in 1499. Today, its population consist of these natives, Spanish descendants, Africans who were brought to the country during its period of slave trading, and European and Middle Eastern immigrants. This ethnic diversity and contrasting geography of the country contributed to the formation of distinct regional identities.

Tourist Attractions

The walled city of Cartagena is on the UNESCO World Heritage List for its rich history and architecture. The capital of Bogotá recently improved its tourism sector by developing public areas, recreational venues and other cultural spots. The country is also a famous producer of coffee, so its coffee region including Armenia is a popular destination. Parts of the Amazon jungle and the Andes mountain range are located inside the country's border.