Southern Province, Sri Lanka: Travel/Tourist Information Guide

Sunset at BentotaBentotaGalle BeachGalle by HelicopterFishermanGalle FortTangalle

National Parks, Lakes, Beaches and Sanctuaries          Religious Places           Historical Sites and Landmarks

The Southern Province is one of the nine provinces of Sri Lanka. It is the 7th largest province by area and the population of the province is about 2.5 million people which makes it the 3rd most populated province. The province is bordered by Sabaragamuwa Province and Uva Province to the North, Eastern Province to the Northeast, Western Province to the Northwest and the Indian Ovean to the South, West and East. The capital of the province is Galle. The districts of the province are Galle, Matara and Hambantota. The province holds many major cities of Sri Lanka and also many tourist attractions. The area is also popular for its beautiful beaches. The main cities area Galle which is the fifth largest city in Sri Lanka and also one of the World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka; Hambantota which is a peaceful town that has a dry landscape, colonial architecture and great expenses of salt; Bentota which is a popular beach destination among travellers and home to wide sandy beaches with calm water making it perfect for diving and water sports;  Hikkaduwa which has a beautiful beach, authentic souvenir shops, touristic opportunities and restaurants; Matara that is famous for temples, ramparts and forts; Unawatuna that is famous for its sandy beaches and colorful environment; and Tissamaharama that is serving as a starting point for visits to Yala National Park and Kataragama.