Eastern Province, Sri Lanka: Travel/Tourist Information Guide

Nilavali BeachSunset at Arugam BayPigeon IslandTrincomalee TempleThe Jungle Beach

Religious Places          Beaches and Lagoons          National Parks

The Eastern Province is one of the nine provinces of Sri Lanka. It is also the first level administrative division of the country. Between 1988 and 2006, the Eastern Province was merged with the Northern Province to form the North East Province. Trincomalee is the capital of the province. The province has an area of 9,996 square kilometers and it is surrounded by the Northern Province to the north, the Bay of Bengal to the east, the Southern Province to the south and the Uva, Central and North Central provinces to the west. The coast of the province is dominated by lagoons which are Batticaloa Lagoon, Pottuvil Lagoon, Upaar Lagoon and Ullackalie Lagoon. The east is the opposite of the west coast of Sri Lanka. It is possible to witness the monsoon season in the west and witness the sun shining in the east at the same time. The population consists of Sinhalese, Tamil and Muslim. The east coast is usually more untouched and tourist-free when it is compared to the west coast. The entire region has been slowly recovering from the civil war years. The two major places of the Eastern Province area Trincomalee and Arugam Bay.