Cental Province, Sri Lanka: Travel/Tourist Information Guide

Dambulla Cave TempleKandy TempleNuwara EliyaSigiriyaTemple of the ToothWorld's End

World Heritage Sites      Religious Places       Mountains       Forests and National Parks       Botanical Gardens

The Central Province is one of the nine provinces of Sri Lanka. The provinces have existed since the 19th century but did not have any legal status until 1987 until the establishment of provincial councils by the 13th Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka. Central Province is the 6th largest province by area and is home to 2.5 million people. The province is bordered by North Central Province to the north, Uva Province to the east , North Western Province to the west and Sabaragamuwa Province to the south and west. The capital of the province is Kandy. The province is famous for its production of Ceylon tea which was planted by the British in the 1860s due to a devastating disease killing all the coffee plantations in the province. The province is one of the most attractive areas in Sri Lanka and it holds numerous tourist attractions such as areas of natural scenic beauty, flora and fauna, diverse climatic conditions, archaeological and historical sites, cultural traditions, arts and handicrafts, festivals, special events and various other attractions. Climatic conditions in the province changes from place to place and tourists can experience diverse climates within a short distance of travel. Many areas of the province are cool and some parts of the eastern and northern are dry. The main cities of the province are Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Matale, Sigiriya, Dambulla. Other destinations are Knuckles Mountain Range, Adam’s Peak and many more.