The fortress was originally constructed in 1667 and it was rebuilt after being severely damaged in an earthquake in 1897. It is one of the largest and most impressive dzongs in Bhutan and it houses the administrative and monastic offices of the Bumthang district. There are different accounts of the origin of the Dzong. Some believe that the Dzong was built by Lam Ngagi Wangchuk who came to Bhutan to spread the teachings of the Frukpa Kagyupa Buddhist order. According to a myth, a white bird perched on where Jakar Dzong was located and it was considered as an auspicious sign.
It was built in 1857 on the site of a battle camp of the penlop of Trongsa, Jigme Namgyal and the palace served as the principal summer residence of the first and the second kings of Bhutan. It was not designed primarily as a fortress. The building is grand but it lacks ramparts and protective walls.
It is Bhutan’s one of the most sacred monasteries. A body print of Guru Rinpoche is preserved in a cave around which the oldest of the three buildings are built. The original building was constructed in 1652 bu Trongsa Penlop and the latest addition was added by the late Queen Mother Ashi Kesang Wangchuk in 1990.
It is one of the 108 monasteries that were constructed by King Songten Gambo only in one night. It is located between Kurjey Lhakhang and Jakar Dzong.
It is a monastery that was established in 1501 by the local Buddhist saint Pema Lingpa. It is a two storey building that contains frescoes and it has a very low ceiling. There is also a 500-year old suit of metal chain made by Pema Lingpa located on the first floor.